​Discovering the Philippines

As a lover of language and culture, I spent a lot of my time surfing the net for articles regarding some countries culture, language, and tradition especially those I really wanted to go to in the future – and one time I really got curious of how others viewed my country, the Philippines.

Though there are a lot of travel blogs that I found, there is a lesser amount that discusses about the culture and the language – and even a lesser self-help language program dedicated to Filipino.

That’s why I decided to create this series of discovering the Philippines, its culture, and its language. I feel that while I have this burning passion to discover other cultures, I often neglect my own. This blog series will be a two way: while letting other people to discover and understand the Philippines it is also my way of establishing a deeper connection to my motherland. 
I will be dedicating some of my blog times discussing and showcasing the Philippines from the point of view of a local. I just want to disclaim that though I love history, I wasn’t a full- blown history geek and I will still have to research and open my history books much of the time and that some of my observations are merely my opinions.
As my first blogpost for this, I wanted to discuss the Philippine culture – the whys.

Most of you might haven’t heard of the Philippines unless you are into boxing – Manny Pacquiao from rag to fame, victory, and riches to being a Philippine senator; or a pageant fanatic which the Philippines is considered a powerhouse: Miss Universe 2015 Pia Wurtzbach, Miss World 2013 Megan Young, Miss Earth 2015 Angelia Ong, and Miss International 2016 Kylie Verzosa are the recent Filipina winners of the Big 4; or if you’re a politics geek, Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte made a buzz. But most of you might haven’t heard the Philippines.

Philippines? What is that? Where is that located?
Philippines is an archipelago country in the Souteast Asia, most of those who are familiar with the Philippines were confuse as to whether the country is part of Asia or the Pacific – we are part of ASIA. 

The country is often said to be a merge of East and West. It’s too Asian for the West, too Western for the Asians. But for us it has the best of both, whatever the Philippines becomes right now is a product of its colorful, heartbreaking, yet beautiful past.

Negritos are the first people who arrived in the coast of the Philippines – while some said they are the first Filipinos some argued that there are people inhabiting the Philippines before they came. They were followed by Austronesians. Then came the Spaniards who colonized the Philippines for 333 years – and might have the biggest influence from religion to festivities to names. Then came Americans who had the Philippines for 50 years – their biggest influence is the wodespread use of American English in the Philippines. Then came the Japanese. And don’t forget the Chinese, Koreans, and other Asians who the Filipinos bartered with and later on reside in the Philippines, they greatly affect the culture of the country. Though most of the history books tackled about the sad and heartbreaking past that we had before finally getting the independence and the right to be called the Republic of the Philippines – we can’t neglect the fact that they did contribute to the rich culture of the Philippines.

Leave a Reply

